Nr ISSN 1230-0314

Publisher: Centre for East European Studies UW

View the website of “Obóz”

The underground journal Obóz (‘Camp’, as in ‘communist bloc’) established in 1981 and edited throughout the 1980s by Jerzy Targalski, together with a small, sometimes changing group, which included Andrzej Ananicz, Kazimierz Stembrowicz, Marek Pernal, Wojciech Maziarski, Jan Malicki, Robert Bogdański, and later, also Leszek Hensel, Krzysztof Dębnicki, Jolanta Sierakowska-Dyndo, Grażyna Gyłybow and Iwanyczo Gyłybow. Up to 1989 19 issues have been released.

The journal’s new edition has been publihed by the Centre for East European Studies since 1991. 53 issues have been published. In 2016 “Obóz” gained a new editorial team and new lauout. Traditionally “Obóz” covered the problems of the Communist bloc – presently it contains materials dealing with Central Europe.


Editorial team:

Kazimierz Wóycicki (editor-in-chief)

Journalist, writer, political scientist, philosopher. He worked in the monthly journal “Więź” (1974-1980) under the leadership of Tadeusz Mazowiecki. He published in so called “second flow” – underground. Imprisoned during the martial law period in Poland.  In 1985-86 he was granted with Adernauer Foundation’s scholarship for political and history studies at Fryburg University.  BBC journalist (1986-1987). He earned his PHD at Wrocław University with a thesis entitled “German examination of conscience. Germans faced with their past 1933-1945”. Editor-in-chief of the “Życie Warszawy” daily newspaper (1990-1993). Director of the Polish Institute in Düsseldorf (1996-1999) and Leipzig (2000-2004). Director of the Szczecin division of  Institute of National Remembrance (2004-2008),  minister’s advisor at the Office For War Veterans and Victims of Oppression (2008-2011), University of Warsaw leturer. Co-initiator of the Coprenicus Group – Polish-German disscussion circle (University of Viadrina Award 2008). Chief of advisor’s team at the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Polish Sejm (2009-2011). President of the Friends of the Polish History Museum Society. Member of the Polish PEN-Club. Director of the European Academy Krzyżowa.

Anton Saifullayeu (secretary of the editorial team)

Graduate of the History Faculty at the Belarusian State University (2010) and “Eastern Stusies” at the Centre for East European Studies University of Warsaw (2012). Since 2013 PhD student on the Faculty of History University of Warsaw. His main fields of research are: the historical mithology, postcolonial theory, history philolophy, Central-European nationalism, East-European Slavic studies.


Krzysztof Nieczypor (editor)

Graduate of the “Foreign Affairs” at the Faculty of Political Sciences Maria Skłodowska-Curie University in Lublin, Inter-Faculty Eastern-Slavic Studies University of Warsaw and “Postgraduate Eastern Studies” at the Centre for East European Studies UW. Editor of the internet portal Eastbook.eu.




Contact with the editorial team – oboz.studium@uw.edu.pl


“Obóz” Academic Board:

– prof. Damir Agičić (University in Zagreb)

– dr Ihar Babkou (Belarusian Academy of Sciences)

– prof. Břetislav Dančák (Masaryk University in Brno)

– dr Rigiels Halili (University of Warsaw)

– prof. Eriks Jekabsons (Latvian University in Riga)

–  Jan Malicki, dr h.c. (University of Warsaw)

– dr Juraj Marušiak (Slovakian Academy of Sciences)

– doc. dr Andrzej Pukszto (Vytaut Magnus University in Kaunas)

– dr Wasyl Rasewicz  (Ukrainian Academy of Sciences)